review: diamine evergreen

31888Sorry for how unrevealing this sample is, but I only had an extra-fine nib. But on to the review!

I accidentally bought two samples of Evergreen by accident. Oops! Anyways, you might not be able to tell from the sample above, but a little more ink down on the page reveals that Diamine Evergreen is a definite dark green. Like an evergreen tree, I guess. Strangely enough, Evergreen seems lighter in certain situations. Weird. This ink does have sheen, and it’s visible even with an extra-fine nib. Of course, this does mean that the ink will smear easily. I just did it with my finger! I’d be careful with it, if I were you: you might not wanna use this ink in something like a pocket notebook, where it’s very likely that you’ll be thumbing through the pages. You can just barely tell that the ink is a dark green and not a black with finer nibs, so I feel like this might be a good ink for more formal correspondence. I’m really enjoying the couple of milliliters of ink that I have. I may not get a full bottle, but Evergreen is still a nice color!

There isn’t a whole lot of shading because of how dark the ink is. Here are two samples done with a Nikko spoon nib and a Nikko G nib on Tomoe River paper. A spoon nib lays ink down more consistently and with a thinner line, while the G nib has more flex and lays down more ink.86There’s a little bit of bleeding on Tomoe River with the nib that lays down more ink, but it’s not so bad considering how dark the ink is. On paper like Tomoe River and Rhodia, there should be no bleedthrough with fountain pens. On printer paper, Evergreen does bleed a little and feather.92

You can find 80 ml bottles at Goulet Pens for $12.95 or at JetPens for $14.50.


Please note that the colors present in this review may not be perfectly true to life: there will be color differences between monitors. Scans I post online are as close as I can possibly get them to the ink that I have. Please keep this in mind, as different factors (such as whether or not the bottle was shaken, the pen used, the paper used, the lighting in the room, etc.) could affect the color!

I’m not at all affiliated with Goulet Pens or JetPens: just a happy customer!

Leave a comment

Filed under ink, reviews

Leave a Reply

