review: sailor jentle tokiwa-matsu

31833This is the second of the two bottles of Sailor Jentle inks that I own! Here we go!

Sailor Jentle Tokiwa-matsu–also known as Evergreen Pine–is a wonderful green. It’s not like Diamine Evergreen (the review of which will be up in a few weeks!) and only a little similar to Rohrer & Klingner Alt-Goldgrün, but it’s definitely something interesting. I love writing this ink because it goes down as a true green, but it yellows as it dries. It’s awesome to watch! I put this in my TWSBI 540 with a broad nib, and the ink keeps up surprisingly well. I tend to have to prime the feed of my TWSBI by twisting the piston a little every time I want to write, but I’ve only had to do it a few times with this ink, and my line has never gone dry enough to be an issue. Tokiwa-matsu sheens like another ink in the same line, Yama-dori, although not quite as much. Still, I’d be careful with this ink. Make sure you let it dry completely before you touch it! I like to let it sit overnight when I write letters with it, because the last thing I want is for my penpal to leaf through the letter I wrote and smear ink everywhere. I can’t say I would use this in a formal situation, but if you’re feeling a little saucy, why not?

Yadda yadda, I’m a college student and I don’t have a lot of room in my dorm. You’ve all heard this like eighty times at this point. I just had to splurge on a bottle of Tokiwa-matsu, because how could I not? It’s beautiful! I love it, and I’m pretty impressed with Sailor Jentle’s new line. It’s unfortunate that inks like Grenade had to be discontinued, but you never know: maybe Sailor will bring it back one day. Keep the hope!

Tokiwa-matsu actually shows a pretty decent amount of shading, but I don’t think it’s enough to knock your socks off. Here are two samples done with a Nikko spoon nib and a Nikko G nib on Tomoe River paper. A spoon nib lays ink down more consistently and with a thinner line, while the G nib has more flex and lays down more ink.sjtmfThis ink is actually well-behaved on both high quality and low quality papers. On paper like Tomoe River and Rhodia paper, you’ll have no trouble with bleeding or feathering. On printer paper, you will get spots of bleed and a little feathering, but I was actually pretty impressed by its performance, especially with my broad-nibbed pen.sjtmb

At JetPens, you can purchase a 50 ml bottle for $20.00. At the Pen Chalet, you can buy the 50 ml bottle for $18.00.


Please note that the colors present in this review may not be perfectly true to life: there will be color differences between monitors. Scans I post online are as close as I can possibly get them to the ink that I have. Please keep this in mind, as different factors (such as whether or not the bottle was shaken, the pen used, the paper used, the lighting in the room, etc.) could affect the color!

I am in no way affiliated with or sponsored by JetPens or the Pen Chalet: I’m just a happy customer!

3 Comments

Filed under ink, reviews

3 responses to “review: sailor jentle tokiwa-matsu

  1. Pingback: Just another pen ?!Blick über den Tellerrand vom 13. December 2014 - Just another pen ?!

  2. Bob

    Only the black and the basic colors are $12.50 at PenChalet. The color you reviewed is $18.

Leave a Reply

