review: noodler’s air-corp blue-black

318nacbbThis isn’t my first tango with Noodler’s Air-Corp Blue-Black: I actually wanted this ink about a year ago after I tried out a sample, but I only just recently managed to pick up a bottle!

I really love the label of this ink, which is pretty much dedicated to the Flying Tigers. The Wikipedia article explains better than I ever could, but the Flying Tigers were basically a volunteer flying force with pilots from the United States who worked closely with Taiwanese officials prior to the beginning of World War II. The label features the Flying Tigers’ infamous planes, painted with a shark-like face on the front, and a reproduction of the blood chit given to the American volunteers. This is a pretty cool part of Taiwanese history, and as an American-born Taiwanese, I thought it was a great gesture for Nathan Tardiff to make an ink dedicated to a not-so-well known part of American/Taiwanese history.

Luckily the cool label is not the only great part of this ink. This ink is called “blue-black” but it’s not really a true blue-black: it definitely leans a little bit green. I actually like this a lot, because it’s a little bit different from “normal” blue-blacks. When compared to something like Noodler’s 54th Massachusetts, you can definitely see how this ink is slightly different–it’s more similar to an ink like Diamine Teal. It’s really interesting to see how just the slightest bit of green can make a blue-black look completely different from a true blue-black. The ink flows very well: I almost thought it was one of the inks from the Noodler’s lubricated line at first, but it’s not.

This ink has very little to no shading, but I think I like it better like this. Here are two samples done with a Nikko spoon nib and a Nikko G nib on Tomoe River paper. A spoon nib lays ink down more consistently and with a thinner line, while the G nib has more flex and lays down more ink.nacbbfThere is very little bleedthrough with my dip pens using this ink, which is good! With normal use in a fountain pen, there should be no bleedthrough at all if you use decent paper.nacbbb

At the Goulet Pen Company, you can purchase a 90 ml bottle of this ink for $12.50. At the Pen Chalet, you can buy the 90 ml bottle at the same price.


Please note that the colors present in this review may not be perfectly true to life: there will be color differences between monitors. Scans I post online are as close as I can possibly get them to the ink that I have. Please keep this in mind, as different factors (such as whether or not the bottle was shaken, the pen used, the paper used, the lighting in the room, etc.) could affect the color!

I am in no way affiliated with or sponsored by Goulet Pens or the Pen Chalet: I’m just a happy customer!

Leave a comment

Filed under ink, reviews

Leave a Reply

