review: diamine marine

318Scann1Diamine Marine was an ink that was pretty high on my wishlist for a while. I bought a sample, and then I bought another, and then I caved and bought a bottle. I really, really like this ink.

Diamine Marine is a bit of a hard color to describe. I’d say it’s something like a blue-green, but brighter than something like teal. Turquoise, maybe? I’m just going to call it turquoise. This is definitely not the kind of ink you wanna whip out to sign an official document, but it’s a beautiful color to use in correspondence. I absolutely love this color: it’s like a jewel! This is actually one of only seven inks that I have full bottles of right now. That’s how much I like it. You may have heard me talk about how I’ve moved into my college dorm, and that space is very limited. I don’t have the time for hundreds of samples or even a dozen bottles. It’s pretty high praise that I bought this ink in a full bottle!

My best suggestion to you is to use this ink in a nib that is broader than a fine: medium, broad, double broad, italic… that’s where this ink really shines and where it can show off its shading. I like how in these samples, you can see the way the ink is “haloed” by a darker color. I think that’s pretty cool! Here are two samples done with a Nikko spoon nib and a Nikko G nib on Tomoe River paper. A spoon nib lays ink down more consistently and with a thinner line, while the G nib has more flex and lays down more ink.Scan10019Bleedthrough is almost non-existent on this paper even with a very liberal application of ink. With regular application in a fountain pen, I highly doubt you’ll get any bleedthrough at all if you’re using decent paper.Scan10019b

You can buy an 80 ml bottle of this ink from Goulet Pens for $12.95, or from JetPens for $14.50 (it looks like JetPens recently raised the prices of their Diamine inks by two dollars!).


Please note that the colors present in this review may not be perfectly true to life: there will be color differences between monitors. Scans I post online are as close as I can possibly get them to the ink that I have. Please keep this in mind, as different factors (such as whether or not the bottle was shaken, the pen used, the paper used, the lighting in the room, etc.) could affect the color!

I’m not at all affiliated with JetPens or Goulet Pens: just a happy customer!

Leave a comment

Filed under ink, reviews

Leave a Reply

