review: noodler’s turquoise

318Scan10001eOof, do I love this ink. Don’t get it confused with Noodler’s Navajo Turquoise, which I think is a much brighter turquoise color.

Here’s the thing: I’m fairly certain the sample above is completely wrong. Noodler’s Turquoise looks a lot more like–well, turquoise in the above sample. The reality is that this ink looks way different: in fact, it looks more like a dark blue-green rather than this brighter blue. I just went back into my sample vial and checked again with a dip pen and it’s… still blue. How bizarre! Shaking the vial and re-testing changed nothing: it remains blue, albeit a little bit darker. Perhaps this ink has been sitting in a box for too long, and it has changed color? No idea. Take this entire review with a grain of salt. You’ll have to. The great part is that whether or not Noodler’s Turquoise is the blue above or the blue below, I still love the color. I’m really trying to cut down on the bottles of ink I’m going to own as I’ll be moving into a dorm in a few months, and Noodler’s Turquoise is a bit too close to other dark blues and blue-greens that I’ll be taking with me. If I had unlimited space, I’d love it. As it is, I’m just going to have to love the ink sample I have.

Here are two samples done with a Nikko spoon nib and a Nikko G nib on Tomoe River paper. A spoon nib lays ink down more consistently and with a thinner line, while the G nib has more flex and lays down more ink. I made this sample a long time ago, when I first got the ink, and you can definitely tell that this sample is darker, much darker than the above sample, which was written with my Pilot 78G. A review over at The Pen Addict definitely suggests that it’s this sample rather than the one above. But (the real) Noodler’s Turquoise has decent shading: you can see how it lightens on some letters and fades back into the dark blue-green it is (supposed to be).Scan10011There is only very light bleedthrough with my dip pens on the Tomoe River paper, and you’ll see that the bleedthrough is tinted green. I found this pretty interesting, although it definitely doesn’t affect the bleedthrough as a whole. There is no bledeing on Tomoe River or Rhodia paper with normal application, and only very light feathering on something like printer paper.Scan10011b

You can buy an 90 ml bottle of this ink from Goulet Pens for $12.50.


Please note that the colors present in this review may not be perfectly true to life: there will be color differences between monitors. Scans I post online are as close as I can possibly get them to the ink that I have. Please keep this in mind, as different factors (such as whether or not the bottle was shaken, the pen used, the paper used, the lighting in the room, etc.) could affect the color!

I’m not at all affiliated with JetPens or Goulet Pens: just a happy customer!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “review: noodler’s turquoise

  1. Pingback: Sunday Notes and Links | Fountain Pen Quest

Leave a Reply

