review: organics studio arsenic

318Scan10003I picked up Organics Studio Arsenic as part of the Goulet Pens Inkapalooza a few months ago. I really don’t want to go check when it was, because that just goes to show how bad I am at staying on schedule.

Arsenic is… gray. It leans way purple. I flushed this out of my pen and I was like, “What!” Purple. Dark purple. It was crazy. And awesome. Unfortunately, that’s about all of Arsenic I feel is interesting–it’s kind of boring in use. Maybe it’s because I don’t use gray inks all that often. But this actually may be where this ink shines! Sounds weird, I know. But maybe you know of a situation where you didn’t really want to use a black ink, but didn’t have any ink that could stand in. Formal correspondence? Yup! Formal documents? Uh-huh! Penpal correspondence? You bet! It’s a great all-purpose ink. Sometimes boring can be a good thing! I still reach for this ink (currently loaded in my TWSBI 540 Diamond with a broad nib) when I want a no-fuss ink to write with. It does its job! To my eye, there isn’t a lot of shading present in this ink, but sometimes you just want a nice, dependable gray.

Not a whole lot of shading, but that’s okay. Here are two samples done with a Nikko spoon nib and a Nikko G nib on Tomoe River paper. A spoon nib lays ink down more consistently and with a thinner line, while the G nib has more flex and lays down more ink.Scan10013cIt barely bleeds through the page, which is great. You always worry with darker inks like this because they have a tendency to bleed through pages when they’re applied thickly, but Tomoe River paper had no issues. In fountain pens, Rhodia and Tomoe Rvier held up great with little showthrough. Feathering across the board is great: none on Rhodia, none on Tomoe River, and very little on printer paper. Like I said: boring can be a good thing!Scan10013d

You can find 55 ml bottles at Goulet Pens for $12.00.


Please note that the colors present in this review may not be perfectly true to life: there will be color differences between monitors. Scans I post online are as close as I can possibly get them to the ink that I have. Please keep this in mind, as different factors (such as whether or not the bottle was shaken, the pen used, the paper used, the lighting in the room, etc.) could affect the color!

I’m not at all affiliated with Goulet Pens: just a happy customer!

Leave a comment

Filed under ink, reviews

Leave a Reply

