review: private reserve cadillac green

318Scan1I picked up Private Reserve Cadillac Green during the Goulet Pens Inkapalooza ink sample sale a few months ago. I think I picked up something like 12 samples? I don’t remember. But I did pick up a lot!

Private Reserve Cadillac Green is a bright, flashy green. I think it’s actually a really nice color, although not one suited for most occasions. I feel like it would work well in a personal journal, as a highlighter, or in correspondence, but you’ll probably want to stay away from this ink for formal things. I mean, you could definitely use it if you want to. I don’t think I’ll buy a full bottle, the only reason being that I really don’t have that much space for full bottles of ink anymore (I’m heading off to college in about two months, and I’m living in a dorm), but I do enjoy the color of this ink. It’s a lovely, bright green with a ton of shading. I’m really glad I got to try it out.

It shades very nicely, from a dark green to a bright kelly green while sometimes veering almost blue-green. Here are two samples done with a Nikko spoon nib and a Nikko G nib on Tomoe River paper. A spoon nib lays ink down more consistently and with a thinner line, while the G nib has more flex and lays down more ink.Scan10013And on the other side, you’ll notice that there’s only very slight bleedthrough. Tomoe River paper is known for being extremely suitable for fountain pens, but you should note that dip pens lay down way more ink than normal fountain pens (music nibs, flex nibs, and other such broad nibs could act more like dip pen nibs). On paper like Tomoe River and Rhodia with just a normal fountain pen, this ink behaves very well with only light showthrough and no bleedthrough. Scan10013b

You can buy this ink in 66 ml bottles for $11 from Goulet Pens.


Please note that the colors present in this review may not be perfectly true to life: there will be color differences between monitors. Scans I post online are as close as I can possibly get them to the ink that I have. Please keep this in mind, as different factors (such as whether or not the bottle was shaken, the pen used, the paper used, the lighting in the room, etc.) could affect the color!

I’m not at all affiliated with Goulet Pens: just a happy customer!

2 Comments

Filed under ink, reviews

2 responses to “review: private reserve cadillac green

  1. Pingback: Sunday Notes and Links | Fountain Pen Quest

  2. Pingback: WINKS #21 - A Mostly Inky Weekly Linky - Pen Paper Ink Letter

Leave a Reply

