review: lamy joy (aluminum cap)

318IMG_2914The Lamy Joy is a calligraphy pen distributed by the same ol’ people who brought you the Lamy Safari. If you hate the grip on a Lamy Safari, or if you’re just not a huge fan of a pen that wants to force you to hold your pen a specific way, you’re not going to be a fan of the Lamy Joy. But if you don’t really mind–like I do, since the way I grip my pens defies most forms of physics–then you may want to consider investing in one of these pens.

My mom purchased the Lamy Joy for me at Eslite, a sort of shopping complex/bookstore/stationery store in Taipei. This must’ve been two years ago. I’m really good at doing things on time, you guys. I’m not sure how much she paid for it, but it must’ve been a little bit more expensive than you could find online because of import costs. The Lamy Joy is approximately 7 inches (18 centimeters) capped, and 6.5 inches (17 centimeters) uncapped. You can’t post the pen because of how it tapers to a chisel shape. This is a long pen, probably about as long as an unsharpened pencil. Its shape reminds me of a quill, only it’s plastic and weird-looking and ends in a chisel shape, which honestly makes little to no sense to me. Really! Absolutely no sense! Why couldn’t this have looked normal, Lamy. But anyway, I have pretty average-sized hands, and I find the pen to be just a tad top heavy sometimes. This may not be a problem for you, especially if you have big ol’ hands, but if you have smaller hands it could be something you want to note.

This pen is a cartridge/converter, which I don’t find disappointing at all. I think it would’ve been cool if Lamy had somehow figured out how to shove a piston in this truly ridiculous looking thing, but that was never going to happen. One thing that is disappointing is that the Lamy converter really doesn’t hold that much ink, especially with regards to how much ink this baby guzzles. Perhaps my pen is just a tad wet, but you better have a constant stream of ink flowing into this thing or else you’re going to run out in seconds. The fun part is that when you get used to this pen, it’s hard to stop: it’s an ink guzzler, and sometimes I get frustrated with its flow, but gosh. It makes my handwriting look a hell of a lot better, and that’s something difficult.

IMG_2915Another super cool thing: you can swap nibs! What nibs? Lamy nibs! You can go anywhere from a EF to a 1.9mm. That’s pretty cool if you ask me. The nibs are supposedly pretty affordable, which I assume is true. I don’t usually purchase nibs for my pens. I like my 1.5mm: not too big and not too small. If you like the thickness of the 1.5mm nib but you hate the baffling shape of this pen, you can purchase something a bit more to your liking, like a Lamy Al-Star (in limited edition blue-green, I whisper, seriously, please do that for me) and swap out the nib for any size of your imagination.

Here’s a writing sample, if you’re interested: Scan10005

The Lamy Joy was purchased for me overseas at the Eslite bookstore chain in Taiwan. However, you can purchase the Lamy Joy with the aluminum cap from JetPens for $37.50, or from Goulet Pens for $36.00.

The Lamy Joy also comes with a plastic cap: from JetPens for $29.00, or from Goulet Pens for $28.00.

And finally, you can purchase extra nibs: from JetPens for $10.75 per nib, or from Goulet Pens for $13.00 per nib. Goulet Pens also offers Lamy nibs in sets, which are excellent deals!


I am in no way affiliated with or sponsored by JetPens or Goulet Pens: they’re just excellent distributors, and I’ve been a happy customer!

 

4 Comments

Filed under pen, reviews

4 responses to “review: lamy joy (aluminum cap)

  1. writing good !!!!!
    nice ink !! love it !

  2. Good review, but if it uses Lamy Safari nibs, the only difference from a Safari is the shape? I have three. Safaris with different nibs for drawings! What a treat!

    • Yup! The Joy is just longer and tapered at the end. It takes the exact same nibs as the Safari–the only reason I would see someone choosing the Joy over the Safari is that they just want the italic nib, or if they prefer the shape!

Leave a Reply

